Savers of the Lost Ark: Episode II – Attack of the Clones

Hello and welcome back to Savers of the Lost Ark. It’s good to see you coming back for seconds. I guess my first one wasn’t too much of a flop if you’re back for more, or maybe you’re just holding out and hoping that it gets better, or maybe you accidentally clicked the hyperlink. Either way I’m glad to see you.

If you’re not familiar with Savers of the Lost Ark, the highly successful blog franchise, this is a blog where I go to the local Savers thrift store on an irregular basis and sift through the rubble of societies long past, and uncover a grand relic. I apologize for the long wait after my first one, I’m sure that you all were checking your subscription feed everyday, but this one was a doozy, because I found the script for the 2009 film Sherlock Holmes.

1

Now I had never seen the film before, but it had looked interesting and I have always been a fan of the Sherlock Holmes stories, so I was eager to watch/read the movie finally after six years.

Unfortunately, it was attached to the script of Alien 3 in the same bag. I kindly asked the upper crust of Savers if I could purchase just one of the scripts, even at the same price, but apparently they’re bag-huggers, and don’t believe in opening bags once they’ve been sealed.

2
Oh well.

I had never read a script before, much less an action-packed one, so I didn’t know what to expect. One thing I did enjoy was that I was in control of the movie, whereas a moving pictures movie shows you what the director want you to see. When writing a script, the author gives just enough information that is essential to the movie, such as blocking and lines and scenery, but leaves the rest of it to the movie makers, or in this case me.

I’m not sure how dark or dim the streets of London were in the film, my London was much brighter and happier. Everyone was wearing bowler hats, holding parasols, playing some footballs, and eating fish and chips, just like 18th century London. And instead of envisioning Robert Downy Jr. and Jude Law as the illustrious Holmes and Watson, I choose Johnny Depp and Charlie Day instead, and Michael Shannon as Blackwood. I don’t have to travel to another reality with that line-up to enjoy the film, I only need a little imagination.

Overall the film was pretty good. I could easily envision the situation in my head, even the fast-paced, actiony parts. The dynamic between Johnny Depp and Charlie Day was phenomenal, I could feel the tension as their characters were drifting apart. Also the sex scene with Johnny Depp and Maggie Smith as Irene was still pretty hot

Golden Globe Nominations
Don’t tell me you never thought about it.

For $5.99 this is a steal. It’s not everyday that you come across a script for any movie, and for less than $10 too I jumped at the opportunity.

Also Alien 3 made excellent confetti. Shredded very nicely. 10/10 shredibility.

recycle006

Image Sources
Movie Poster
Maggie Smith

Leave a comment